Young growers compete

Young growers

Hawkes Bay contestants gather before the competition. From left: Tom Dalziel, Ryan Gittings, Lincoln Thomson, Luke Scragg, Wade Miller, Lisa Arnold, Anthony Taueki and Philip Siagia.

The Central Otago and Hawkes Bay Young Grower of the Year competitions were held during June. Hamish Darling from Moorpark and Mulberry Orchard, Cromwell and Lisa Arnold from Bostock NZ, Hastings emerged as the winners. The two will go on to compete for the 2018 Young Grower of the Year award on 21-22 August in Napier.

Summerfruit NZ is proud to be a sponsor of these two events. Our congratulations to Hamish and Lisa and to all those who competed.

 CO Young growers

Central Otago contestants relaxing prior to the competition. Standing from left: Jordan Carroll, Hamish Darling, Jonathan Bates, and Sam Hobbs. Seated: Adam Low and Sam Struthers.