Commercial growing areas

The main growing areas are Hawke's Bay and Central Otago, with some production remaining in Marlborough, north of Auckland and Canterbury. According to the 2016 crop survey, there are approximately 1,840ha of summerfruit orchards in New Zealand. Central Otago accounts for 59% of the planted area, while Hawke's Bay is the second largest area with 31% and the remaining regions accounting for 10%.